Skip to content

FLEMING – Find A Grave success!

August 28, 2009

Ask and you shall receive!  Right?  This is alive and well at www.findagrave.com

Earlier this week, I fulfilled my first photo requests!  There were five open at Wyuka Cemetery, so I printed out the info, searched their website for burial locations, and off I went!  The folks at the cemetery office were very helpful, not only printing maps for me and highlighting where the stones should be, but also finding a spelling error in one of the names and explaining that one grave may not have a headstone due to the conditions in 1919. 

It was a beautiful sunny day, so I decided to get in a bit of exercise and walk to each gravesite instead of drive.  Great workout, and very spiritual experience!   It got up to over 90 degrees that day, so I was a little flushed and tired by the time I left there.  Remind me to take a bottle of water next time!  Three hours later, I was on my way home with 35 photos!  Not only did I find 4 out of 5 of my original group, but I found a few of their relations as well.  There are also some really interesting headstones there, so I snapped photos of them too!  As they predicted, the 1919 stone was nowhere to be found… it was just a grassy spot… so I took a photo of the grass anyway to share with the requester. 

I spent the rest of the afternoon sitting in the a/c here at home loading pictures and sending messages that the requests had been completed.  What a great feeling to be able to help a complete stranger out!

Later on this week, I discovered that the photo requests that I had posted for great grandpa Fred Fleming and his family was claimed and completed!  The volunteer even took pics of a couple of other Flemings in the area that turned out to be Fred’s brother and one of Fred’s sons.  It’s reassuring for me to see their graves, even though they’re just photos.  From a genealogical perspective, I was able to add new information to their ancestry.com profiles based on the information on the stones.  From a personal perspective, seeing the actual physical proof that they lived makes me feel a little closer to them.

New headstones (Frank & James E to be added soon):

Fleming, Claire Wilford
b. Feb. 21, 1905 d. Oct. 23, 1970
Belmont Memorial Park
Fresno
Fresno County
California, USA
 
Fleming, Frank
b. 1866 d. 1953
Belmont Memorial Park
Fresno
Fresno County
California, USA
 
Fleming, Fred
b. Jul. 3, 1873 d. Jun. 15, 1944
Belmont Memorial Park
Fresno
Fresno County
California, USA
 
Fleming, James E
b. Nov. 15, 1916 d. Feb. 18, 2003
Belmont Memorial Park
Fresno
Fresno County
California, USA
Lovestrand, Marjorie May Fleming
b. Aug. 19, 1913 d. Sep. 22, 1971
Belmont Memorial Park
Fresno
Fresno County
California, USA
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

