Skip to content

Historical Markers at Markeroni.com

August 21, 2009

Nebraska Statehood Memorial - 1627 "H" Street, Lincoln NE 68508Scott’s parents are on their way here as I type this, so I really shouldn’t be typing this!  They left Detroit yesterday, stayed in Chicago overnight, and are now coming to see us for the weekend.  Of course, we decided to start a bunch of projects this week to spruce up the house for their visit and are still in the midst of them!  I should be putting a 2nd coat of paint in the bathroom right now!  (it’s hard to motivate when the paint doesn’t look at all like what you thought it would, so you’ll be repainting again very soon)

In the meantime, I’ve been digging around in Twitter, Facebook, and the web looking for something new to pique my curiosity when a tweet from @mdiane_rogers popped up. 

#FollowFriday @markeroni She has a great group going – photographing/noting historical markers & sites. #photography #history #genealogy

Markeroni?  What in the world is that?  I like Historical Markers!  So I popped onto their website and got sucked right in.  Really, it’s a place where you share photos and information about Historical Markers that you visit.  Since Scott and I just went to the Nebraska State Capitol, walked by the Governor’s Mansion, and popped over to the Nebraska Statehood Memorial at the Thomas P Kennard House, it was the perfect opportunity for me to phost my photos with people would would appreciate them.

It took me a bit to figure out how to get around on the site, but after a while I was able to load my first two markers!  I even took a stab at Cataloging the Nebraska Statehood Memorial!  I also see that they’re missing photos from Hawaii, so I’ll have to dig through my Hawaii photos and scan one from my visit to the USS Arizona Memorial.  I can’t remember if I snapped a picture of the plaque, but it’s worth a look!

If you’re looking for a place to share photos from your visits to historical monuments and the like, check out Markeroni!  Apparently, there are even penguins involved!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wandering Raleighite permalink
    August 21, 2009 7:46 pm

    Thank you for adding NE to the catalog, and if you can bolster the NE to ND section and any HI photos you have.

    Wandering Raleighite

    P.S. Just a warning, Markeroni can be addicting.

  2. August 21, 2009 8:17 pm

    How awesome. 🙂 Thank you very much for the write-up, and WELCOME! 🙂

Leave a Reply

